Subscription Databases

Databases A - Z


 

Databases By Subject

Auto Repair | Biography | Business/Investment | Education/Learning
Encyclopedias
| Fun and Games | Genealogy | General Reference
Health
Kid's Reference | Law | Literature/Books
Newspapers | Science

Auto Repair
Chilton Library.com
Chilton Library provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

Biography

Biography Resource Center
award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search

Business/Investment

Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

General Business File ASAP
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Morning Star
Source for information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange traded funds, separate accounts, and college savings plans.

Reference USA
The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents."

Small Business eCollection
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

 

Education/Learning

Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Learn A Test
test preparation and interactive practice exams for a wide variety of standardized tests including GED, SAT, and U.S. Citizenship as well as occupational exams

Tutor.com
Available from 3PM to 10PM, tutor.com is a website that provides live tutors on-line to help you with your homework. Subjects include Math (Algebra, Calculus, Geometry, and Trigonometry), Science (Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science and Physics), English, and Social Studies.

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Americana
In-depth research and worldwide current events for middle school, high school, and college. You will be taken to a list of Grolier databases, you will need to select this database.

New Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events for elementary readers and up. You will be taken to a list of Grolier databases, you will need to select this database.

 

Fun and Games

Tumblebooks
An online collection of animated, talking picture books, reading comprehension quizzes, educational games, and teacher resources.

 

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition - In Library Use Only
with over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available. Included in Ancestry Library Edition are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index,and much more

Heritage Quest
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI« Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

 

General Reference

Consumer Reports Online
ConsumerReports.org features Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.

Culture Grams
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports on more than 182 cultures of the world. CultureGrams go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The growing diversity of the U.S. population and the new emphasis on globalism and multiculturalism make CultureGrams an indispensable resource for teachers and students to understand their country and their world.

Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!

General Reference Center Gold
a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more

InfoTrac One File
a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

InfoTrac Junior Edition
Recommended for: Middle and Junior High School. Full text. Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

InfoTrac Student Edition
Recommended for: High School. Mostly full text. Over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

OCLC FirstSearch
over 60 academic periodical indexes, some with full text.á Also includes WorldCat, the most complete library catalog for North America.

Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
An electronic database antique/collectibles pricing tool, containing data from a variety of sources, including online auctions (eBay), online antique dealers (GoAntiques & TIAS) and land-based auction houses. The database currently has over 23 million prices realized for art, antiques and collectibles in more than 100 categories and subcategories with over 10 million images.

 

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only

Health Reference Center (Facts on File)
Provides clear, authoritative information on today's most pressing health topics and social concerns.

Health Reference Center Academic
In-depth science, plus science in the news for middle and high schools. You will be taken to a list of Grolier databases, you will need to select this database.

 

Kid's Reference

eLibrary Elementary
the eLibrary for the young reader and researcher; search from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, weblinks, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies."

Sirs Discoverer
periodical articles on a wide range of topics geared to elementary school students

 

Law

LegalTrac
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.

Thomson Gale LegalForms
Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

 

Literature/Books

Books and Authors
A database to help you decide what to read next. Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author, and series. Includes over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner, and librarian's favorites lists. Titles include both fiction and non-fiction.

Literary Reference Online
Examines the lives and works of great writers throughout history.

Literature Resource Center
Provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and additional resources.

Novelist
Choose books based on other authors you like or other subject you enjoy. Find guides to fiction; author read-alikes, award winners, book discussion guides and more

Writer's Reference Center
A convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this indispensable online resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing and provides a wealth of vocabulary-building reference
dictionaries.

 

Newspapers

Newsbank Michigan Newspapers
search full text articles from Michigan news papers the Detroit News, the Grand Rapids Press, and the Lansing State Journal

Infotrac Newsstand
A collection of full text newspapers from around the Country and the World. Includes the Detroit Free Press.

New York Times
Search full-text articles from 1980 - present.

Historical New York Times
Trace the Revolutionary War rebel cause, Reconstruction after the Civil War, American industrialization into the 20th Century, both World Wars, the Civil Rights Movement, and the development of a globalized economy in one source…

Science

Computer Database
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Science Online
Contains extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines.


 

Friends of Commerce Library

Friends of
The Library

 

 

Follow us on
Facebook icon  Twitter icon

Current Weather
Click for Commerce Township, Michigan Forecast

 


Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight

Database Spotlight